Daily Blogging – The Halfway Summary

Hi all! Since this is the 15th day I’ve written in this blog for this month, I thought it was the perfect point to do a summary post of everything that’s happened so far, so that anyone who comes in from now on won’t have to be bewildered when  I yell “GENITIVE!” or complain about my lack of church architecture knowledge.

(The astute amongst you will have noticed that in fact today is the 18th and if I have only posted for 15 days then I am several days behind. This is true. Easter was supposed to cure that, and it didn’t. Oops.)

So without further ado:


Day One – Failure Day 1. I literally forgot it was the 1st)

Day Two – I announced my intentions to blog every single day in the spirit of the Nanowrimo challenge. I then posted about my too brief trip to the Saxon Tower in Oxford. I do definitely intend to go back there one day, I was far too rushed.

Day Three – I dug into a story which was floating round my corner of the internet about whether these remains found in a tiny village had been burnt and hacked after death because the villagers were afraid they would rise again, or because the villagers were really, really hungry. Meaty stuff.

Day Four – I start recapping the place-names conference that I went to at the end of March. A lot of this first entry is me complaining how difficult the drive down was, and making the first of many mentions to my academic inferiority complex.

Day Five – Failure Day 2

Day Six- Conference continues. I manage to make a reasonably sized post despite the quality of my notes having flagged, and share that frankly terrifying but cute photo of my cat with you all.

Day Seven – By this point I’ve reached lunchtime at the conference. On a personal note I talk a bit more about that inferiority complex (which by the way I just spelt infeririotity) and how certain people helped it, and on a slightly more academic note I introduce you to the difference between a surname and a byname. (There will be a test at the end…) There’s also a photograph of me and my favourite professor at graduation.

Day Eight – And I finally finished recapping that conference! I’d like to point out that I originally only thought it would take me two posts. Ha. Coolest thing I learnt during this bit: Boudicca might have been able to speak a Germanic language.

Day Nine – This is the first of two posts about my trip into Cambridge. Turns out there’s a lot of old stuff in Cambridge – more than I actually got to see as it happens. This was about St Benet’s Church, with its stunning Anglo-Saxon arch and tower. Standing under that tower was quite the experience, let me tell you. For some reason it hit me in a way that climbing the one in Oxford didn’t.

Day Ten – Second post about Cambridge. This time the photo spam is of The Round Church, which you’ve all probably seen if you’ve been in Cambridge city centre at all, but I bet you didn’t know that it’s been there for over 900 years! The round bit of it is Norman in origin, and so much smaller than I had expected!

Day Eleven – A quick and easy post linking you to some relevant events/books etc which have happened in the last six months.

Day Twelve – Failure Day 3

Day Thirteen – In which I start my little series on the place-names on Huntingdonshire. The first one shows you some Huntingdonshire inhabitants whom you never knew about – and about which all we know is their name.

Day Fourteen – Huntingdonshire series powers up with a display of the languages which were spoken by varying inhabitants at varying times, as shown in the settlements they named.

Day Fifteen – I continued to get very excited about the genitive case when discussing places in Huntingdonshire named after animals. My favourite is still Yaxley, for how it looks so un-English in its spelling but is actually one of the less changed names I found. Maybe you like Woolley for its animal? I won’t spoil the surprise for any first-time readers there.

Day Sixteen – It was Easter Sunday, and my 2 – year anniversary of starting this blog. I celebrated by talking a lot about garlic and getting excited about a thorn bush: plant names in Huntingdonshire.

Day Seventeen – The final piece on Huntingdonshire place-names (for this month, anyway) was on place-names within the Fens. I got very confused by the meaning of the word “fen”.


Day Eighteen – Well, here we are. It’s been brilliant fun so far, and I really can’t thank everyone enough for reading along with me. Let me know if there’s anything you want more of less of for the rest of the month and I’ll see what I can do!

Daily Blogging – The Halfway Summary

Leave a Reply

